top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdam Kropf

Losing My Vision But Not My Hope

Everyone flinches when I tell them I will be awake to watch the surgeon cut the interior lens out of my eye. Tomorrow I will be undergoing a cataract removal and interocular implant surgery.


Over the past couple years I’ve been dealing with vision loss and in the fall of 2019, it reached a point where I knew something needed to be done. I talked with my optometrist and he referred me to a surgeon in Toronto. I wasn’t able to get an appointment with him until January 31st 2020.


During this time I felt less and less comfortable driving so I limited it to a specific route from my house to see my kids and back, and during the daytime whenever possible. In February, I felt that was still too risky and I voluntarily parked my car for good while I waited for eye surgery. It was hard for me to give up this independence and suddenly need to rely on everyone around me for help.


My initial date that I was given was for June 2020, but after a heartfelt letter from my mom they moved it up to April 20th.


Then Covid hit.


After my final scans on March 13th I received a call that due to the pandemic they were cancelling all non-essential surgeries and they were unable to give me a new date but to expect it to be around the end of 2020. Having no end date to both the pandemic induced isolation, and my vision impairment was a hard mental struggle.


My vision continued to get worse and day to day life was becoming harder.


Simple things that I so often took for granted like reading a menu at a restaurant, operating a credit card machine at a store, or finding groceries in a store became a difficult and embarrassing struggle. I found myself no longer trying to make eye contact because I was worried I would misunderstand nonverbal social cues.


One major thing I learned through this process was that it became much easier to deal with, when I shared my challenges with more people.


The journey became easier as I reached out and allowed my small community support me. They offered rides, were accommodating when I couldn’t drive, and helped whenever possible.


Tomorrow will be the first eye surgery and hopefully the second eye can follow a couple months after. If everything goes as planned, and with the help of glasses I should have 20/20 vision.


Thank you again to everyone who supported me through this, and I appreciate your thoughts and prayers tomorrow.


See you on the other side.

91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Always Show Your Work

How to remove bias, and increase stakeholder buy-in I recently gave a talk for the Product People Group in Berlin about some of the biggest mistakes I made when starting out in Product Management. In

Start-Up Coaching

Any start-ups looking for a coach? If you, or someone you know is working at an early stage start-up, I’d love to chat. To give back to the tech community I’m offering free coaching for early stage st

bottom of page